Lagos State

Nickname: Centre of Excellence
Governor: Babajide Sanwo-olu

Area: 3,577 square kilometres
Size Rank: 36th

Lagos State came into existence on May 27, 1967 through Decree No. 14 promulgated by the Federal Military Government. Major Mobolaji Johnson (now Brig. Gen. RTD) was posted to assume the position of the Military Governor of the State. The original settlers of Lagos, or ‘Eko’ as it is called by the indigenous population, were of Awori Eko heritage.

There are 20 Local Government Areas (LGAs) in Lagos which are: Alimosho, Ajeromi-Ifelodun, Kosofe, Mushin, Oshodi-Isolo, Ojo, Ikorodu, Surulere, Agege, Ifajo-Ijaye, Shomolu, Amuwo-Odofin, Lagos Mainland, Ikeja, Eti-Osa, Badagry, Apapa, Lagos Island, Epe, and Ibeju-Lekki.

Lagos is the commercial and industrial hub of Nigeria, with a GNP that triples that of any other West African country ( Lagos has greatly benefited from Nigeria’s natural resources in oil, natural gas, coal, fuel wood and water. Light industry was prevalent in post-independence Nigeria and petroleum-related industry dominated in the 1970’s, directly affecting the rapid growth of Lagos spurring it to what it is today.