Strategy Roadmap

DAWN provides the Roadmap of plans and actions towards Regional Integration and Cooperation amongst all the States of the Southwest Region. It is both a document and a process. The Roadmap seeks to restore deliberate thinking, planning and acting together in critical areas of development possibilities. The objective is to merge strengths, leverage comparative and competitive advantages, encourage peer learning and minimize duplication or multiplication of efforts.

The Strategy Roadmap serves as a guide for the DAWN Framework in Western Nigeria. This map plots out the who, what, when, where, why and how of this streamlined regional integration. The governments of the Southwest regional States of Nigeria-Ekiti, Lagos, Ogun, Ondo, Osun and Oyo agree and are committed to a common set of development strategies across all spheres of existence i.e. economic, technological, social, educational, human capital for the Region and its indigenes. The Roadmap brings it to life.

The Strategy Roadmap represents the Region’s first attempt since the exit of the military government at having one coordinated development plan for the States of the Southwest Region of Nigeria. This plan addresses the imperative to create in the Region a thriving and prosperous Southwest.

This comprehensive guide assures that no stone has been left unturned for the implementation of DAWN in the Region. Therefore, DAWN Commission has mapped the Region’s resources and identified sources of development deficit and recommendations for transforming what has become a dormant Region in the last 30 years. The Roadmap identifies important issues of development from agriculture to technology and tourism to name a few.